2016 Mackey Award semifinalists announced

As we prepare to enter college football awards season, the John Mackey Award has announced its group of eight semifinalists which are some of the best tight ends in college football.

Each year, the Mackey Award is presented to  to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey.

Who made the cut?

The Mackey Award finalists can be seen below:

  • Adam Breneman, UMass (58 REC, 699 yards, 7 TDs)
  • Jake Butt, Michigan (38 REC, 460 yards, 4 TDs)
  • Evan Engram, Ole Miss (59 REC, 824 yards, 7 TDs)
  • Gerald Everett, South Alabama (41 REC, 637 yards, 4 TDs)
  • Cole Hikutini, Louisville (38 REC, 526 yards, 6 TDs)
  • Bucky Hodges, Virginia Tech (36 REC, 514 yards, 5 TDs)
  • O.J. Howard, Alabama (29 REC, 352 yards, 2 TDs)
  • Jordan Leggett, Clemson (28 REC, 480 yards, 4 TDs)

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.

Mackey Award finalists will be announced Nov. 22, while the winner will be named at the College Football Awards presented by Home Depot Dec. 8 on ESPNU.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Twitter