2016 Outland Trophy semifinalists announced

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top interior lineman. A job that goes largely unnoticed, and certainly under appreciate), these hog mollies have separated themselves as the best in the amateur business.

Named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1800s, it has been awarded annually since 1946, making it the third oldest individual honor in college football.

Thus far, the list has been whittled down to these cream-of-the-crop-buffet-busters:

  • Pat Elflein, Ohio State
  • Cody O’Connell, Washington State
  • Ethan Pocic, LSU
  • Cam Robinson, Alabama
  • Connor Williams, Texas

The winner of the 2016 Outland Trophy will be announced Thurs., Dec. 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The award will later be presented to the winning recipient on Jan. 11 by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. They will also honor Oklahoma offensive lineman Greg Roberts with an Outland Award. He was the recipient of the award in 1978, before the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) presented the award. His coach at Oklahoma,  Barry Switzer, will receive the third annual Tom Osborne Legacy Award during the evening as well.

With the NFL Draft rapidly approaching, and pro-teams always in need of help in the trenches, an award like this would like mighty good on a resume. Pat Elflein of Ohio State and Cam Robinson of Alabama are already expected to be taken early and are considered “NFL ready” by many scouts.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Twitter

Two Maryland players suspended for firing BB guns at students
Two Maryland players suspended for firing BB guns at students