magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

Battle 4 Atlantis announces 2017 lineup


After the thrilling comeback victory from Baylor in this year’s edition of the Battle 4 Atlantis college basketball tournament, the field for next year’s tourney has been announced.

Arizona, North Carolina State, Northern Iowa, Purdue, SMU, Tennessee, Villanova and Western Kentucky have all be scheduled to play in the annual tournament held in the Bahamas.

Since 2011, a different winner has been crowned every year.

Next year, Villanova will have the chance to become the first to hold multiple championship victories at the Battle 4 Atlantis.

Both Arizona and Western Kentucky currently hold commitments from five-star recruits: DeAndre Ayton and Mitchell Robinson, respectively. These future lottery pick and potential “one and done” could provide an intriguing matchup if things hold on the recruiting front.

The tournament is held annually at the Imperial Arena and donates $2 million to the universities that participate. It is currently the most lucrative of all the early season tournaments in Division I collegiate basketball.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Michael is originally from Miami, FL and is of Cuban descent. He holds BFA from the University of Florida/New World School of the Arts and is also a New York city based stand-up comedian. Michael is 5'11", but wears elevators in his shoes to make himself 6 feet tall. Twitter: @MichaelNapoles
  • You Might Like