Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Colorado head coach Mike MacIntyre led a remarkable turnaround for the Buffaloes, who will take on the No. 4 Washington Huskies at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif. on Saturday in the Pac-12 Championship Game.

Not only has MacIntyre led one of the most unlikely turnarounds in the nation this year, he has been honored by the conference for his efforts.

On Tuesday, the conference announced that MacIntyre has been honored as the Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

“It’s these young men and how well they’ve played and how they’ve bought in to everything we’ve asked them to do,” said MacIntyre, via the Denver Post. “Our coaching staff has done a phenomenal job with them. And then our auxiliary people. Everybody that touches our young men takes pride in our young men being successful.

“From our trainers to strength staff to equipment managers to football operations. Everybody has done so much to propel these young men and instill confidence and belief in them. I’m just fortunate enough to have ‘head coach’ in front of my name. I’m just along for the ride.”

It has been incredible to watch the Buffaloes make such positive strides in 2016, and it’s clear that MacIntyre is building a solid program that will be a force in the conference for years to come.

The first-team All Pac-12 Team can be seen below, as well.

First-Team Offense
QB Jake Browning, Washington
RB Myles Gaskin, Washington
RB Christian McCaffrey, Stanford
WR Gabe Marks, Washington State
WR John Ross, Washington
TE Pharoah Brown, Oregon
OL Trey Adams, Washington
OL Zach Banner, USC
OL Garrett Bolles, Utah
OL Jake Eldrenkamp, Washington
OL Scott Quessenberry, UCLA
OL Chad Wheeler, USC

First-Team Defense
DL Hunter Dimick, Utah
DL Tak McKinley, UCLA
DL Elijah Qualls, Washington
DL Solomon Thomas, Stanford
LB Jayon Brown, UCLA
LB Jimmie Gilbert, Colorado
LB Azeem Victor, Washington
DB Budda Baker, Washington
DB Adoree Jackson, USC
DB Sidney Jones, Washington
DB Shalom Luani, Washington State

First-Team Specialists
PK Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State
P    Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah
RS Adoree Jackson, USC
ST Ryan Moeller, Colorado

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Twitter

Dabo Swinney thinks reporters ‘should be fired’ over racial slur allegations
Dabo Swinney thinks reporters ‘should be fired’ over racial slur allegations