2016 Heisman Trophy finalists announced

Five of college football’s most talented players have been invited to New York City.

On Monday night, the 2016 Heisman Trophy finalists were announced and it was five players who learned they made the cut for college football’s most prestigious award.

The front-runner all season long, Louisville Cardinals quarterback Lamar Jackson, led the way, while last year’s finalist Deshaun Watson also got the call. Joining the two ACC stars was Michigan do-it-all man Jabrill Peppers, and a pair of Oklahoma Sooners, quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook.

One of the biggest surprises is the exclusion of Texas running back D’Onta Foreman.

Jackson has been the runaway favorite all season and should take home the award, but as the Cardinals stumbled down the final stretch of the season the race tightened.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Ole Miss WR Damore’ea Stringfellow declares for 2017 NFL Draft