D’Onta Foreman wins 2016 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

On Wednesday night, The Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler announced Texas Longhorns star D’Onta Foreman has been named the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award winner for the 2016 college football season.
Foreman,  a unanimous first-team All-Big 12 honoree and consensus first-team All-American, rushed for 2,028 yards and 15 touchdowns on 323 carries.
After becoming only the second player in Texas history to rush for more than 2,000 yards en route to winning the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s top running back. Foreman led the FBS in rushing.
“I’m honored to present the award to D’Onta Foreman,” Earl Campbell said in a statement. “The votes were close because all of these players had an amazing season. We were proud to be able to present the award to D’Onta. It takes on a special meaning this year as well because it is the first athlete from my alma mater, University of Texas, to win the award.”
The award is given annually to the “top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity.”
Foreman beat out Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurd, Texas Tech’s Patrick Mahomes, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and Sooners wideout Dede Westbrook for the honor.
Foreman is now set to take his talents to the NFL after declaring for the 2017 draft.
Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!
Photo Credit: Twitter

Kansas' Ryan Willis reportedly transfers to Virginia Tech
Kansas' Ryan Willis reportedly transfers to Virginia Tech