Sun Belt Conference To Break Into Two Divisions In 2018

The Sun Belt Conference is due for a major change.
Originally dating back to 1976, the conference didn’t start sponsoring football until 2001. It appears that things have moved fast for the Sun Belt conference, and they’ll soon be splitting their field into East and West divisions.
According to a report on the North State Journal, the conference will be dividing it’s ten team field into two conferences.
A format taken from several of the Power Five conferences around the country, the Sun Belt conference will also host its own title game. The championship game will be played in the home stadium of the team with the highest College Football Playoff ranking.
The East division will feature Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Coastal Carolina, Georgia State and Troy.
The West Division includes Arkansas State, South Alabama, Louisiana-Monroe, Louisiana-Lafayette and Texas State.
The league also approved a central review system similar to what the SEC uses. Officials in a separate location will aid officials on the field in deterring the outcome of coaches challenges.
Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Three Michigan State Football Players Violated School Policy