Home Football 2017 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List Announced

2017 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List Announced


It’s officially watch list season in college football and the latest award to announce its preseason contenders is the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award, given annually to the nation’s top signal-caller.

This year, the preseason watch list features 30 of college football’s top quarterbacks.

The watch list, which was determined by the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, is headlined by Louisville star Lamar Jackson, who is the reigning Heisman Trophy winner, and Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma.

Both men were finalists for the award a year ago, with Clemson’s Deshaun Watson ultimately taking home the honor.

The full 2017 Davey O’Brien Award watch list can be seen below:

  • Austin Allen (Arkansas, Sr., Fayetteville, Ark.)
  • Josh Allen (Wyoming, Jr., Firebaugh, Calif.)
  • J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas)
  • Jake Bentley (South Carolina, So., Opelika, Ala.)
  • Jake Browning (Washington, Jr., Granite Bay, Calif.)
  • Shane Buechele (Texas, So., Arlington, Texas)
  • Sam Darnold (USC, So., Capistrano Beach, Calif.)
  • Eric Dungey (Syracuse, Jr., Lake Oswego, Ore.)
  • Jacob Eason (Georgia, So., Lake Stevens, Wash.)
  • Jesse Ertz (Kansas State, Sr., Burlington, Iowa)
  • Luke Falk (Washington State, Sr., Logan, Utah)
  • Riley Ferguson (Memphis, Sr., Matthews, N.C.)
  • Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State, Jr., Richmond Hill, Ga.)
  • Quinton Flowers (USF, Sr., Miami, Fla.)
  • Deondre Francois (Florida State, So., Orlando, Fla.)
  • Jalen Hurts (Alabama, So., Houston, Texas)
  • Lamar Jackson (Louisville, Jr., Pompano Beach, Fla.)
  • Daniel Jones (Duke, So., Charlotte, N.C.)
  • Tanner Mangum (BYU, Jr., Eagle, Idaho)
  • Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Sr., Austin, Texas)
  • Trace McSorley (Penn State, Jr., Ashburn, Va.)
  • Shea Patterson (Ole Miss, So., Shreveport, La.)
  • Josh Rosen (UCLA, Jr., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
  • Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Sr., Rock Hill, S.C.)
  • Brett Rypien (Boise State, Jr., Spokane, Wash.)
  • Brandon Silvers (Troy, Sr., Orange Beach, Ala.)
  • Wilton Speight (Michigan, Jr., Richmond, Va.)
  • Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, Jr., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
  • Mike White (Western Kentucky, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
  • Logan Woodside (Toledo, Sr., Frankfurt, Ky.)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Davey O’Brien Award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -