LSU Football: Two Players To Wear No. 18 This Season

The LSU football program has announced who received the honor of donning the No. 18 jersey for the 2017 season on Monday morning and, in a rare move, the Tigers will have two players rocking the number.

The jersey number, which became a “holy grail” of sorts at LSU after Matt Mauck wore the number for the team’s national championship in 2003, is given to the players who best represent the LSU program on and off the field.

LSU’s two No. 18’s in 2017 will be defensive lineman Christian LaCouture and fullback J.D. Moore.

It was confirmed earlier this year that LaCouture would receive the honor, with Moore being a late addition to the long-standing tradition.

There's a new addition to the No. 18 club! Congratulations to J.D. Moore on being chosen to wear No. 18 alongside Christian Lacouture.

— LSU Football (@LSUfootball) July 31, 2017

Along with Mauk, former LSU players to don No. 18 are Jacob Hester, Bennie Logan, Terrance Magee and most recently Tre’Davious White.

LSU opens its 2017 campaign on Saturday, Sept. 2 against BYU.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!