Kentucky Football: Josh Allen Wins Defensive Player Of The Year

It’s officially college football award season and one of the top awards of the season has been handed out. On Tuesday, December 4, the winner of the 2018 Bronko Nagurski Award which is presented annually for defensive excellence.
This year, the Football Writers Association of America’s All-America committee announced at the Charlotte Convention Center in North Carolina that Kentucky Wildcats linebacker Josh Allen was the winner of the award. The award is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).
Allen beat out Michigan’s Devin Bush, Grant Delpit of LSU, Clemson’s Christian Wilkins, and Alabama standout Quinnen Williams for the trophy. The Wildcats standout was also named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year and was a unanimous All-SEC first-team selection by the Associated Press.
On top his conference honors and national award, Allen is a finalist for the Walter Camp National Player of the Year, Butkus Award, Chuck Bednarik Award, Lott IMPACT Trophy, and Ted Hendrick Award.
This season, Allen recorded 84 total tackles, 18.5 tackles for a loss, a whopping 14 sacks and five forced fumbles.
To cap off the 2018 season, the No. 14-ranked Wildcats will take on the No. 12 Penn State Nittany Lions on January 1, 2019 in the Citrus Bowl. Kickoff at Camping World Stadium in Orlando is set for 1:00 p.m. ET on ABC.

Kansas Football: Chip Lindsey Hired To Lead Les Miles Offense
Kansas Football: Chip Lindsey Hired To Lead Les Miles Offense