Oklahoma Football: Kyler Murray Named AP Player Of The Year

Kyler Murray, one of the top players in college football, has picked up a national honor. On Thursday, December 6, it was announced that the Oklahoma Sooners quarterback is the 2018 recipient of the AP Player of the Year award.
Murray is also one of the favorites to bring home the Heisman Trophy, college football’s most prestigious honor.
From the report:

Murray beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa in voting by 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots. Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. was third in the award announced Thursday. Murray received 39 first-place votes and a total of 145 points. Tagovailoa (117 points) received 13 first-place votes and Haskins (55 points) was listed first on four ballots. All three are finalists for the Heisman Trophy , which will be presented Saturday night in New York.
Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year.

This season, Murray, who is also a standout baseball player, threw for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns, and just seven interceptions. On the ground, the star signal-caller added 892 yards and an additional 11 scores.
Oklahoma is currently ranked No. 4 in the nation and secured a spot in the College Football Playoff.
Up next for the Sooners is a meeting with the top-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide on Saturday, December 29. Kickoff at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami is set for 8:00 p.m. ET on ESPN.

College Football Bowl Schedule 2018-19: Full List Of Games
College Football Bowl Schedule 2018-19: Full List Of Games