Heisman Trophy 2018: Kyler Murray Becomes 2nd Straight Oklahoma Winner

For the second straight year, a member of the Oklahoma Sooners football program is atop the college football world. On Saturday, December 8, Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray walked away from New York City with the Heisman Trophy. Murray follows in the footsteps of 2017 winner Baker Mayfield.
It was also the third straight year that a Sooners standout was a finalist for college football’s most prestigious award.
“Nobody really knows how hard these past couple of years have been for me but you and my family,” Murray said in his acceptance speech while addressing head coach Lincoln Riley. “Through it all, you’ve coached me, kept me going, kept me focused. You’ve pushed me harder than any coach has, and I just want to say thank you for believing in me and allowing me to be the quarterback of this team and the leader of this team.”


This season, Murray threw for 4,053 yards, rushed for 892 on the ground, and totaled 51 touchdowns — 40 through the air and 11 on the ground.
Up next for Oklahoma, which is ranked No. 4 in the nation, is a meeting with the top-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide in the College Football Playoff. Oklahoma and Alabama will be facing off in the Orange Bowl at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, Florida on Saturday, December 29. Kickoff is set for 8:00 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Best ESPN College GameDay Signs: Army vs. Navy
Best ESPN College GameDay Signs: Army vs. Navy