Safety Cameron Lewis Commits to LSU

Over the years, the LSU Tigers have established themselves as “Defensive Back University” or simply put. “DBU.”

Players such as Laron Landry, Patrick Peterson, Tyrann Mathieu, Morris Claiborne, Eric Reid,  and plenty of others have donned purple and gold. There is a long list of Tigers who will eventually join them in the NFL who are currently suiting up for LSU.

That notion continued Thursday when Wossman (Monroe, Louisiana) athlete Cameron Lewis committed to LSU over Texas A&M, Notre Dame, and Georgia, among others.

The Tigers are recruiting Lewis to play safety at the next level and he will join a deep and talented defensive unit in Baton Rouge.

So far in 2016, the Tigers have racked up eight commitments with seven of them rated four-stars or higher.  Five-star cornerback/safety Saivion Smith committed to the Tigers on Feb. 24 and highly-rated cornerbacks Trayvon Mullen and Kristian Fulton are expected to be favoriting LSU as well.

Not only was Lewis’ commitment huge for obvious reasons, but the fact that the Tigers landed a talented player out of Monroe was huge for head coach Les Miles and company.

In recent recruiting cycles, prospects out of Monroe were getting away from LSU. Players such as Cameron Robinson and Hootie Jones come to mind as Nick Saban worked his wizardry and convinced both to sign with the Crimson Tide.

However, you can’t land them all, but Les Miles certainly believes the best players in the state of Louisiana should stay home and play for LSU.

The Tigers will boast yet another talented secondary this upcoming season, headlined by cornerback Tre’Davious White and safety Jamal Adams.

If LSU can fix their quarterback woes, there is no doubt the Tigers can become one of the best teams in the country and fight for their fourth national title in school history.


*Section Photo credit to Stacy Revere, Getty Images; Featured Photo (above) credit to  Derick E. Hingle, USA Today Sports. 






Greg Sankey Named Next SEC Commissioner
Greg Sankey Named Next SEC Commissioner