SEC sets FBS record for single-season most bowl wins

Through New Year’s Eve, SEC teams sported a 4-1 record in their respective bowl games. With five more played since, the conference has set a single-season record for FBS bowl wins.

Friday, Ole Miss thumped Oklahoma State in the Sugar bowl, while Tennessee did the same to Northwestern in the Outback Bowl. Georgia and Arkansas won their bowls Saturday, bringing the total number of wins to eight, a single-season FBS record.

Previously the SEC held the record with seven in last year’s bowl season.

However the record may not last long as Pac-12 teams are 6-2 with two games left. Oregon plays a Treyvone Boykin-less TCU in the Alamo Bowl and Arizona State takes on West Virginia in the Cactus Bowl.

Of course, Alabama does have one more game left, the National Championship against Clemson.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

LSU has number one recruiting class for 2016