Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer wins Dan Hodge Trophy

Oklahoma State wrestler Alex Dieringer was announced as the 2016 winner of the Dan Hodge Trophy today. The award was created by WIN founder Mike Chapman in 1995 and is awarded to the most outstanding college wrestler of the year.

It is considered the wrestling equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

Dieringer, 165 pounds, is a senior at Oklahoma State and recently took home his third NCAA title. He is the second Oklahoma State wrestler to win this award.

“This is the best group of Hodge Trophy finalists we’ve ever had for the award,” said WIN Publisher Bryan Van Kley. “We’re extremely proud to announce Alex as this year’s winner. He obviously won the award over a group of finalists who all were extremely dominant and who could have been worthy Hodge winners on any given year.”

Dieringer, a Wisconsin native, ended his career with the Cowboys with an 82-match winning streak and 133-4 overall. He earned All-American titles all four years spent in the NCAA and was nearly undefeated, at 19-1, within the NCAA Championship.

He will be presented with the award on April 21st, at Oklahoma State.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Indoor lacrosse goalie absolutely wrecks his opponent’s day with this hit