Home Basketball Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield, UConn’s Breanna Stewart win John Wooden Awards

Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield, UConn’s Breanna Stewart win John Wooden Awards


On Friday night in Los Angeles, ESPN hosted the College Basketball Awards which revealed the winners of the 2016 John R. Wooden Award for national college basketball players of the year.

The winners of the award were Oklahoma Sooners star Buddy Hield and Connecticut Huskies standout Breanna Stewart, a four-time national champion.

“It’s been fun and I can’t be more blessed to be around college basketball,” Hield said while accepting the award. “I can’t be prouder and I thank my family for supporting me through the whole journey.”

Hield edged out Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon, UNC’s Brice Johnson, Tyler Ulis of Kentucky and Denzel Valentine of Michigan State. In addition to claiming the 2016 John R. Wooden Award, Hield was the recipient of the Jerry West shooting guard of the year award.

For Stewart, it was her second straight Wooden Award.

Add in four national titles and four Final Four MVP awards, and it’s safe to say that Stewart will be remembered as one of the greatest female basketball players in recent memory.

Stewart edged out teammate Moriah Jefferson, Rachel Banham of Minnesota,  Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell and A’ja Wilson of South Carolina for the honors.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -