Home Football NFF announces William V. Campbell Trophy semifinalists

NFF announces William V. Campbell Trophy semifinalists


On Wednesday, the National Football Foundation announced the 156 semifinalists for the 2016 William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments. The award honors “an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.”

The list of 156 semifinalists will be trimmed down to 12-14 finalists on Nov. 1.

Each semifinalist will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalist, announced on Dec. 6 at the 59th NFF Annual Awards, and will have his scholarship increased to $25,000.

“These 156 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “It is important for us to showcase their success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Here is the full list of 2016 nominees.

Air Force – Claude Alexander Austin Peay State – Trey Salisbury Albion (Mich.) – Andrew DiFranco
Arizona State – Matt Haack Brown – Dakota Girard Bates (Maine) – Mark Upton
Arkansas – Brooks Ellis Bucknell – Cary Hess Bethel (Minn.) – Drew Neuville
Arkansas State – Jake Swalley Campbell – Jarrett Ozimek Bridgewater (Va.) – Davey Hardesty
Auburn – Alex Kozan Charleston Southern – Ben Robinson Carnegie Mellon (Pa.) – Brian Khoury
Ball State – Sam Brunner Chattanooga – Derrick Craine Castleton (Vt.) – Soren Pelz-Walsh
Boise State – Sean Wale The Citadel – Will Vanvick DePauw (Ind.) – Will Longthorne
Brigham Young – Taysom Hill Dayton – Chris Beaschler Franklin and Marshall (Pa.) – Jonathan Naji
Central Florida – Justin Holman Delaware – Jalen Randolph Frostburg State (Md.) – Isaac Robinson
Central Michigan – Cooper Rush Delaware State – Ernest Mengoni Gallaudet (D.C.) – Sean Fenton
Colorado – Ryan Severson Eastern Kentucky – Avery Pitt Gettysburg (Pa.) – Cordell Boggs
Connecticut – Justin Wain Elon – John Gallagher Grinnell (Iowa) – Ibuki Ogasawara
Duke – DeVon Edwards Harvard – Max Rich Hardin-Simmons (Texas) – Conlan Aguirre
East Carolina – Zay Jones Holy Cross – Jake Wieczorek Hendrix (Ark.) – Ethan Hoppe
Eastern Michigan – Cole Gardner Idaho State – Hayden Stout Johns Hopkins (Md.) – Jack Campbell
Florida – Johnny Townsend Illinois State – Mark Spelman Kenyon (Ohio) – Joseph Marabito
Florida Atlantic – Dillon DeBoer Marist – Cameron Gibson Lake Forest (Ill.) – Sam Mulford
Fresno State – Jacob Vazquez Missouri State – Dylan Cole Lycoming (Pa.) – Austin Mital
Georgia State – Bobby Baker Morehead State – Pat DiSalvio Macalester (Minn.) – Forest Redlin
Houston – Tyler McCloskey Murray State – Toby Omli Maine Maritime – Robert Bradley
Illinois – Joe Spencer New Hampshire – Casey DeAndrade Manchester (Ind.) – Zach Rudolf
Indiana – Jacob Bailey North Dakota State – Chase Morlock Monmouth (Ill.) – Matt Barnes
Iowa State – Kane Seeley Northern Iowa – Karter Schult Moravian (Pa.) – Jalen Snyder-Scipio
Kansas State – Will Davis Pennsylvania – Nick Demes Ohio Wesleyan – Mason Tomblin
Kent State – Nick Cuthbert Princeton – Scott Carpenter Redlands (Calif.) – Patrick Neville
Kentucky – Jon Toth Robert Morris – Andy Smigiera Saint John’s (Minn.) – Carter Hanson
Marshall – Emanuel Byrd Saint Francis – Lance Geesey St. John Fisher (N.Y.) – Alec Mortillaro
Memphis – Jake Elliott San Diego – Devyn Bryant Trinity (Texas) – Brad Hood
Miami (Fla.) – Justin Vogel South Dakota State – Nick Mears Washington & Jefferson (Pa.) – Brandon Martuccio
Michigan – Michael Jocz Stetson – Davion Belk Wisconsin-Oshkosh – Branden Lloyd
Michigan State – Josiah Price Towson – Jake Ryder Wisconsin-Stout – Logan Stoa
Mississippi – Nathan Noble Western Carolina – Fred Payne Wisconsin-Whitewater – John Flood
Mississippi State – Richie Brown Western Illinois – Nathan Knuffman Wooster (Ohio) – Todd Ulmer
Missouri – Sean Culkin William & Mary – Hunter Windmuller
Navy – Will Worth Wofford – Nick Colvin
Nebraska – Josh Banderas Yale – Sebastian Little NAIA
North Carolina – Nick Weiler Morningside (Iowa) – Austin Anfinson
North Carolina State – Jack Tocho Northwestern (Iowa) – Craig Bruinsma
North Texas – Fred Scott DIVISION II Peru State (Neb.) – Ryan Zuhlke
Northern Illinois – Drew Hare Ashland (Ohio) – Zach Bernhard Trinity International (Ill.) – Riley Schussler
Ohio State – Joe Burger Bentley (Mass.) – Bryan Hardy
Old Dominion – Tyler Compton California of Pa. – Ryan McCauley
Oregon – Johnny Ragin III Central Missouri – Garrett Fugate
Penn State – Tyler Yazujian Colorado School of Mines – Richie Rice
Pittsburgh – Dontez Ford Delta State (Miss.) – Tyler Sullivan
Purdue – Jake Replogle Harding (Ark.) – Cordell Zalenski
Rice – Darik Dillard Humboldt State (Calif.) – Chase Krivashei
Rutgers – Quanzell Lambert Kutztown (Pa.) – Kellen Williams
San Jose State – Tim Crawley Malone (Ohio) – JC Pawlyk
South Carolina – Perry Orth Northwest Missouri State – Simon Mathiesen
Southern Mississippi – Cameron Tom Pittsburg State (Kan.) – Deron Washington
Stanford – Dallas Lloyd Stonehill (Mass.) – Anthony Siciliano
Syracuse – Cameron MacPherson Tarleton State (Texas) – Cody Burtscher
Temple – Brendan McGowan Wayne State (Mich.) – Trent Brodbeck
Tennessee – Dylan Wiesman West Chester (Pa.) – Kyle Keyser
Texas Tech – Justis Nelson Wingate (N.C.) – Caleb Baird
Tulsa – Dane Evans
Utah – Hunter Dimick
Utah State – Travis Seefeldt
Virginia – Nicholas Conte
Wake Forest – Ryan Janvion
West Virginia – Tyler Orlosky
Western Kentucky – Marcus Ward
Western Michigan – Zach Terrell
Wisconsin – Vince Biegel
Wyoming – Chase Roullier


Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -