2016 Broyles Award finalists announced

The 2016 college football season is winding down, which means a flurry of awards are set to be handed out to the top players and coaches in the nation.

On Monday, we got one step closer to learning the recipient of one coaching award, as the 2016 Broyles Award finalists were announced. The Broyles Award, established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football coach Frank Broyles, is given annually to the top assistant coach in college football.

The 2016 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 6 at 1:00pm at the Marriott Hotel.

Last year’s honor went to Oklahoma offensive coordinator Lincoln Riley.

Who has a crack at the award this season?

The full list of finalists for the 2016 Broyles Award can be seen below:

  • Alabama – Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Clemson – Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Colorado – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Pittsburgh – Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Who do you think should take home this year’s honor? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Penn State’s Saquon Barkley expects to play in Big Ten Championship