Lamar Jackson wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

The 2016 college football has come and gone and the top players in the nation have been honored for their standout performances. No player earned as much valuable hardware as Louisville star quarterback Lamar Jackson, however.

After taking home the Walter Camp Award and Maxwell Award as the top player in college football, Jackson added to his trophy case with the sport’s most prestigious award.

On Saturday night, as everyone expected all season long, Jackson was named the winner of the 2016 Heisman Trophy.

Jackson won the award in a landslide.

A full breakdown of the voting can be seen below:

Percentage of ballots on which the top 5 appeared:
Lamar Jackson — 90.53%
Deshaun Watson — 74.63%
Baker Mayfield — 25.51%
Jabrill Peppers — 15.72%
Dede Westbrook — 15.18%

By comparison, the 2015 winner, Derrick Henry, was named on 86.01% of ballots. Last year’s runner up, Christian McCaffrey, was on 76.75% of ballots.

Jackson finished the 2016 campaign with 3,390 yards through the air, 30 touchdowns and nine interceptions.

The sophomore signal-caller added 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns on the ground.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Twitter

Lane Kiffin to FAU? Not so fast, my friend
Lane Kiffin to FAU? Not so fast, my friend