Home Football 2017 Dodd Trophy Watch List Released

2017 Dodd Trophy Watch List Released


The Dodd Trophy doesn’t get the national attention that some of the other annual college football awards get. But that doesn’t mean it’s any less prestigious. Given annually to the top coach in the country, there have only been two coaches to win the award twice.

Today, the preseason watch list for the 2017 Dodd Trophy was released.

There are some big names on the list, along with a couple of newcomers and hopefuls. The list was published on the official Dodd Trophy website.

Coach School Conference
Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten
 James Franklin  Penn State Big Ten
 Justin Fuente  Virginia Tech ACC
 Mike Gundy  Oklahoma State Big 12
 Jim Harbaugh  Michigan Big Ten
 Clay Helton  USC Pac-12
Paul Johnson Georgia Tech ACC
Butch Jones Tennessee SEC
Gus Malzahn Auburn SEC
 Jim McElwain  Florida SEC
 Urban Meyer  Ohio State  Big Ten
 Ken Niumatalolo  Navy American
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12
 Mark Richt  Miami ACC
Nick Saban Alabama SEC
David Shaw Stanford Pac-12
 Bill Snyder  Kansas State Big 12
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12

Notably, Ken Niumatlolo is the only name not that doesn’t coach in a Power Five conference. The head coach of Navy has become something of a media darling over the past couple of seasons, leading the Midshipmen to 11 wins, and nine wins since joining the AAC.

Of the major conferences, the Big 12 features the fewest number of coaches on the list. The only coach in the conference making an appearance is longtime Kansas State coach Bill Snyder.

Snyder is currently undergoing treatment for throat cancer, and is one of only two coaches to ever win the award twice.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -