Jason Witten Collegiate Man Of The Year Finalists Announced

On Tuesday, the inaugural group of finalists for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award were announced.
College football’s newest award was created to honor “the Division I college football player who has demonstrated a record of leadership by exhibiting exceptional courage, integrity and sportsmanship both on and off the field. The award honors the type of exemplary character and commitment to community, family and teammates demonstrated by Jason Witten, the 2012 NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year and one of the most prominent role models in the game.”
Each Division I program has its Sports Information Directors nominate one player, before a board of directors sorts the lengthy list to just three candidates.
The trio of finalists can be seen below:

  • Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick
  • UCF linebacker Shaquem Griffin
  • Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph

“I am very excited to announce these three exceptional young men as the finalists for the inaugural Collegiate Man of the Year,” Witten said in a statement.
“Minkah Fitzpatrick, Shaquem Griffin and Mason Rudolph are outstanding leaders on the field, in the classroom and in the community, and they embody what the sport of college football is all about. It was a nearly impossible task to choose just three from all of the great student-athletes nominated. There are so many outstanding leaders who are great representatives for college football, and I commend all of the nominees for the tremendous example they set on and off the field.”
Who do you think should take home the inaugural Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts.
Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

WATCH: Total Bammer Writes In Nick Saban For Senate Election
WATCH: Total Bammer Writes In Nick Saban For Senate Election