Scott Frost Named AP Coach Of The Year

Scott Frost has been named the AP Coach of the Year after leading the UCF football program to a perfect regular season record in 2017. The Knights earned a spot in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl against No. 7 Auburn.
Frost earned the honor after receiving 21 first-place votes and 100 points. Second place went to Georgia’s Kirby Smart, who tallied seven first-place votes and 55 points.
Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley and Miami’s Mark Richt rounded out the top five.
Frost has since accepted the head coaching job at Nebraska, but will remain with the Knights through the Jan. 1 meeting with the Tigers.
“I was very fortunate to work with a special group at UCF for the last two years,” Frost said in a statement, via the Associated Press. “I’ve told them a number of times that what they accomplished this season was nothing short of impossible. Any honor or award I receive based on what we accomplished as a team is a credit to those student-athletes. I’m very proud to have been a part of this magical season.”
Kickoff between UCF and Auburn is set for 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

WVU Football: David Sills V Returning In 2018
WVU Football: David Sills V Returning In 2018