2017 Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists Unveiled

We are now set to enter Week 9 of the college football season and the top players in the nation are starting to be recognized. On Monday, the 2017 Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists were announced, setting the early tone for awards season.
The Jim Thorpe Award is presented annually to the best defensive back in college football based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character.
This year, the Alabama Crimson Tide and Penn State Nittany Lions lead the way.
The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the nation each have two representatives on the list of 13 semifinalists; the only schools with multiple players to receive recognition. Minkah Fitzpatrick and Levi Wallace represent Alabama, while Penn State’s secondary sees Marcus Allen and Grant Haley on the list.
Did your favorite program land a semifinalist?
The full list of Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists can be seen below:

  • Marcus Allen, Penn State
  • Quin Blanding, Virginia
  • Jalen Davis, Utah State
  • DeShon Elliott, Texas
  • Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
  • Grant Haley, Penn State
  • Derwin James, Florida State
  • Jeremy McDuffie, Duke
  • Parry Nickerson, Tulane
  • Justin Reid, Stanford
  • Dominick Sanders, Georgia
  • Levi Wallace, Alabama
  • Denzel Ward, Ohio State

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Michigan Photographer Gets Amazing Photos Before Being Hit, Stretchered Off Field