2017 Bednarik Award Semifinalists: Full List Of 18 Candidates

It’s college football awards season, and we are narrowing down the list of candidates for the 2017 Chuck Bedarik Award.
On Monday, Maxwell Football Club president Mark Dianno got awards season started with the list of 18 semifinalists for the 23rd annual Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.
The semifinalists were selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.
Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 20, before the winner will be announced live on Dec. 7 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.
Last year’s Bednarik Award winner was Alabama defensive lineman Jonathan Allen.
The complete list of semifinalists for the 2017 Maxwell Award can be seen below:

  • Minkah Fitzpatrick, DB, Alabama (Jr.)
  • Dexter Lawrence, DT, Clemson (So.)
  • Joe Giles-Harris, LB, Duke (So.)
  • Derwin James, S, Florida State (So.)
  • Roquan Smith, LB, Georgia (Jr.)
  • Ed Oliver, DT, Houston (So.)
  • Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa (Sr.)
  • Josh Jackson, CB, Iowa (Jr.)
  • Maurice Hurst, DT, Michigan (Sr.)
  • Jeffery Simmons, DT, Mississippi State (So.)
  • Bradley Chubb, DE, NC State (Sr.)
  • Sutton Smith, DE, Northern Illinois (So.)
  • Nick Bosa, DE, Ohio State (So.)
  • Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma (Sr.)
  • Harrison Phillips, DT, Stanford (Sr.)
  • Duke Ejiofor, DE, Wake Forest (Sr.)
  • Vita Vea, DT, Washington (Jr.)
  • Hercules Mata’afa, DE, Washinton State (Jr.)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

2017 Maxwell Award Semifinalists: Full List Of 18 Candidates
2017 Maxwell Award Semifinalists: Full List Of 18 Candidates