Oregon AD Rob Mullens Named College Football Playoff Selection Committee Chair

The newest chair of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee has been named.

On Wednesday, College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock announced that Oregon athletic director Rob Mullens will be taking over the role.

“We are delighted that Rob will be stepping into this role,” Hancock said in a statement. “He is an experienced committee member, extremely passionate about college football, detail-oriented, and brings a high level of energy that is perfectly suited to chairing the committee.”

Texas Tech University Director of Athletics Kirby Hocutt’s term as the committee chair ends on Feb. 1.

“College football plays a vital role in intercollegiate athletics, and it is an honor to continue to serve on the CFP Selection Committee,” said Mullens.  “I look forward to partnering with the other committee members and the staff to build on the strong foundation which has been created in the first four years of the CFP.”

Along with the naming of a new chair, there are six committee members that will need to be replaced when their terms end next month. One spot is expected to be filled by Georgia Tech athletic director Todd Stansbury.