Home Football Big 12 Baker Mayfield Named 2017 Manning Award Winner

Baker Mayfield Named 2017 Manning Award Winner


Heisman Trophy winner Baker Mayfield has added another piece of hardware to his trophy case.

On Thursday afternoon, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced that the Oklahoma Sooner star has been named the 2017 recipient of the Manning Award.

The award is presented annually since 2004 and is presented to the quarterback who is the best in the nation. It is the only award that takes a signal-caller’s performance into the postseason into consideration.

“I would like to thank the Allstate Sugar Bowl for creating this award in our family’s name 14 years ago,” said Archie Manning in a statement.

“It is an honor to have our name associated with the top quarterback in the nation each year. I would also like to congratulate Baker Mayfield, who capped a tremendous career with an outstanding senior season to earn this honor. To say he took a different path to success would be an understatement. I doubt there’s ever been a player who walked on to two different teams and reached this level of success.”

The last two Manning Awards were given to Clemson’s Deshaun Watson.

Congratulations to Mayfield, who also won the Maxwell, Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien and Chic Harley Awards, on his latest honor.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -